Full Time Faculty

Iqbal Akhtar

Iqbal Akhtar, Assistant Professor

Email: iakhtar@fiu.edu
Office: DM359B

Areas of specialization: South Asian and diasporic history, Khoja Studies, Sindhic philology, and Islamic mysticism.

Daniel Alvarez

Daniel Alvarez, Undergraduate Program Director & Instructor

Email: alvarezd@fiu.edu
Office: DM304

Office hours: MW 2-3:30 PM

Areas of Specialization: Protestant Theology, Reformation, Evangelicalism, World Religions

Whitney Bauman

Whitney Bauman, Associate Professor

Email: wbauman@fiu.edu
Office: DM301A

Areas of Specialization: Religion and Science, Religion in Nature

Ana María Bidegain

Ana María Bidegain, Professor

Email: anamaria.bidegain@fiu.edu
Office: DM305B

Areas of Specialization: Christianity in Latin America, Women in Latin American Religions, History of Religion in Latin America

Jeffery Gonzalez

Jeffery Gonzalez, Instructor

Email: Email

Areas of Specialization: Religions of the African diaspora in Cuba, Trinidad, Brazil and the United States. Impact of religion on women and gender in the Caribbean.

Steven Heine

Steven Heine, Professor

Email: heines@fiu.edu
Areas of Specialization: Japanese Religions, Comparative Religious Thought, Religion and the Social Sciences

Room: SIPA 504

Erik Larson

Erik Larson, Chair and Associate Professor

Email: larsone@fiu.edu

Areas of Specialization: New Testament, Christian Origins, Ancient Judaism, Dead Sea Scrolls
Room: DM303

Lesley A. Northup

Lesley A. Northup, Associate Professor, Dean of The Honors College

Email: northupl@fiu.edu

Areas of Specialization: Myth and Ritual Studies, Religion in America, Religion and Culture

Room: DM233

Tudor Parfitt

Tudor Parfitt, President Yitzhak Navon Professor of Sephardic-Mizrahi Studies and Distinguished Professor of SIPA

Email: tparfitt@fiu.edu
Office: DM369B

Areas of Specialization: The periphery of the Jewish world, Judaising movements, the myth of the Lost Tribes of Israel, Genetic discourses about Jews, Modern Hebrew Literature, Hebrew language, Muslim-Jewish Relations, the Jews of the Yemen, Jews of the Muslim world, the Sepharadi World, Conversos, Black Jews in Africa and the Americas.

Samani Rohini Pragya

Samani Rohini Pragya, Visiting Instructor

Email: Samani Rohini
Vitae: Curriculum Vitae

Field of Specialization: Jainism, Comparative Religion and Philosophy, Ahimsa, Training in Non Violence and Preksha Meditation

Room: DM320C

Oren Baruch Stier

Oren Baruch Stier, Professor

Email: stiero@fiu.edu

Areas of Specialization: Holocaust Studies, Jewish Studies, Visual and Material Culture

Room: DM305A

Steven Vose

Steven Vose, Religious Studies Assistant Professor and Bhagwan Mahavir Assistant Professor of Jain Studies

Email: svose@fiu.edu
Room: DM359A

Areas of Specialization: Religions of India; Jainism; History of Religions; Sanskrit, Prakrit, and Gujarati Languages and Literatures; Art and Architecture; Devotionalism; Conflict and (Non-)Violence.

Albert Wuaku

Albert Wuaku, Graduate Program Director and Associate Professor

Email:Wuakua@fiu.edu

Areas of Specialization: African and Caribbean Religions, Fieldwork in Religious Studies, Religion and Culture

Room: DM309A

Erin Weston

Erin Weston, Online Instructor

Email: eweston@fiu.edu
Room: DM 322B

Areas of Specialization and Interest: New Religious Movements, Witchcraft and Neopaganism, Neoshamanism and Indigenous Religious Practices, Syncretism, Religious Aesthetics and Iconography, Magic in Religions, Intro to Asian Religions, and World Religions.